danaxiq.blogg.se

Bash install sml wont work
Bash install sml wont work




bash install sml wont work

various extensions make this better like iBuffer. Once you have a bunch of files open already switch between them using c-x b. As an example when I'm working in a project I often navigate it by using rgrep and choosing a buffer that way. Seek out emacs users and ask them how they do the most mundane things. The help system is discoverable and well thought out once you can navigate it easily. The keys which initially seem hard actually involve lite hand movement. If you take the approach of trying to make emacs be just like the environments you are used to then a) you will be disappointed and b) why bother?įor me the joy of emacs comes from discovering its thoughtful and pragmatic design. I've been using emacs for 10 years but I felt as you do for perhaps as long as two months. I'm sorry btw, I don't mean to bash on Emacs or sound whiny, but I'm about ready to throw in the towel, its just disappointing because I've seen people work their magic in it and i can't even work on a rails project in it. Can you please help me get to a place where I can do something productive inside emacs? I've been messing with it off and on for a couple weeks now. I could see the files and directories and open them, edit them etc. With VIM I just installed nerdtree and voila. even if its slow, at least I can get comfortable and pick up little tips and tricks here and there, but I don't feel prepared to do any real work even after going all the way through the tutorial. See my goal is to just get to a point where I can WORK.

bash install sml wont work

speedbar (not sr-speedbar) the one that seems to come with emacs got me excited until i realized the files are not even displaying in the speedbar buffer thing, (only the directories are showing, open them and no files). I somehow managed to get EVIL mode installed which makes me feel more at home, but I cannot seem to get anything to work. I'm a rails developer, so the NERDtree file/directory manager on the side is important to me so I can switch between lots of files. I'm a recent convert from Sublime Text 2 to VIM and now I want to try Emacs.






Bash install sml wont work